Database

I’m staring into the abyss:
names, institutions, qualifications
rage in whirlpools within that black sea.
Pages torn out of lives. Fragments of mind
touch. I could have known them once
in the ocean that linked worlds
when we were mitochondria
protozoa, thorny-headed worms
ink from the sacs of a fleeing squid.

Some names have a face.
Faces without names shout to me
without pieces of paper to join them
in the swim. For them I will go under
learn their undulations, the ripples
of each tentacle, the all-seeing glow
in their spherical eyes. Ridged and
hooked stories of their spines.
For them I will go deep.

Papers float to the surface
on a screen at an empty desk.

3 thoughts on “Database

  1. “names, institutions, qualifications
    rage in whirlpools within that black sea.
    Pages torn out of lives. Fragments of mind
    touch. I could have known them once”

    The number of times I have wrestled against drowning in this. Beautifully captured.

Comments are closed.