Enchanting the Shadowlands: Lorna Smithers

This is the second review I’ve had of Enchanting the Shadowlands in the last two days (!) from Elen Sentier. I was particularly touched by it as Elen has a lasting relationship with Gwyn ap Nudd, which she speaks about in Elen of the Ways, and says ‘Lorna’s poetry leads me across new thresholds to meet him in new ways’ and that she plans to take the book to Dunkery Beacon, one of Gwyn’s mountains. Coincidentally, when I was Bardic Co-ordinator for the Druid Network, I discovered and re-published Elen’s story Walking with Dragons where she tells how a vision on Dunkery Beacon involving Elen, Gwyn and Ceridwen and ‘ghostly spider’s web criss-crossing the hills’ inspired her to walk the dragon-ways. Best of wishes for your return to Dunkery, Elen.

Elen Sentier

Enchanting the ShadowlandsI love this collection of poems and short stories. Lorna Smithers gathered the poems in Enchanting the Shadowlands from her local landscape after being called by our Brythonic god, Gwyn ap Nudd.

Gwyn, for me, is a liminal god, a guardian of thresholds. Lorna’s poetry leads me across new thresholds to meet him in new ways. It’s a book that will travel with me down to Exmoor and Dunkery Beacon, the highest hill on the moor and one of my favourite places. It’s also one of Gwyn’s mountains, one of his places that I visit every time I’m down there.

I thoroughly recommend this book of poems.

View original post

One thought on “Enchanting the Shadowlands: Lorna Smithers

Leave a Reply

