Beyond the Blue Equinoctial Horizon

The Blue Equinoctial Horizon

 

 

 

 

 

For Gwyn ap Nudd, my lord of all that is strange, beautiful and powerful as I cross the horizon again…

The golden crowns of trees are unshaken
by any breeze rustling, rustling.
Hooves crunch through amber shells,
tossed and turned over on the disused trackway.

No-one will know where I have come from
nor where I have been.

At the woodland’s river-shore beats a tide.
On the blue equinoctial horizon
sits the tiny red dot of a sun.
A water-wind rushes, whispers in my ear.

No-one will know where I have come from
nor where I have been.

Beyond the horizon lies a hill,
an otherland where the hills of this land
gather and march. Within the hill is a cavern
and well of unspeakable dreams.

No-one will know where I have come from
nor where I have been.

Fay lights flicker.
The woodland folk stir and waken,
speak their well wishes and farewells;
they know who beckons.

My hoof prints have become a dancing trail of amber leaves.

No-one will know where I have come from
nor where I have been.

4 thoughts on “Beyond the Blue Equinoctial Horizon

  1. I’ve just been dipping into a revised edition of Melanie Reinhart’s (astrology) book on Chiron, and have just re-read a passage that seems apt: ‘the horse, like the shaman, is a bridge between the world of form and the world of the unseen. It (sic) carries the deceased to the afterlife, and enables the shaman to search for the lost souls of those who are ill: it is a funerary animal and psychopomp, a guide or one who shows the way’. (Chiron, as a centaur has the body and legs of a horse, with human torso and arms, of course). Glad you had a good Autumn Equinox.

    1. Hello Brian, good to hear from you 🙂 Thanks for sharing this.

      I recall Chiron as a teacher of Dionysus? And having arms is also able to wield a bow? Would be very handy!

      Hope you also enjoyed the equniox.

Comments are closed.