Long-tailed Tits

On a day of sun and dim mist
they strike up a band in the sky
and take me by their twirling steps
where happiness is reverenced
and joy is kind. I venerate
their humble nests, arrayed from moss
and spider silk, a feathered down
to keep their young warm and mothered,
safe from the crows. I venerate
the goodly ones from rainbow plains
of ancestral skies. I venerate
the family whose memories
of pain feed their fragile delight.

Workhouse, Whittle, Birchwood 011 - Copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

*This a photo taken in Whittle Wood beside Mill Brook in Penwortham where I saw the long-tailed tits. I didn’t take a photo of them because it didn’t feel right.

4 thoughts on “Long-tailed Tits

  1. They are beautiful little birds. They have appeared in my garden for the first time this year. They arrive in a gang, and flitter about and are very chirpy, happy, little things. I feel blessed that they have chosen to come in my garden, I get a lot of joy out of watching them. They remind me of teenagers for some reason.

  2. Pingback: Long-tailed tits video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  3. Pingback: Great tit feeding, video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  4. Pingback: Two great tits on my balcony | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

