Sylph

Winged one of the eastern gate
hangs over Brigantia
like an angel of the north
rolling off my cornea
in fathomless lineaments,
sinews strung in touchless cloud
defying horizons down.

No eye can bind you, but you
bind my sight- if I close my
eye-lids then the sky falls down.

Winged one of the eastern gate
blows over Brigantia
like a wind-god of the north
roaring in my cochlea
of times uncontainable,
voice immense sings down highways
in soul-racking threnodies.

I cannot contain your primal
strength yet if I cover my
ears up then the sky falls down.

Winged one of the eastern gate,
wind-god, angel, inspirer
of Brigantia…

We cannot invoke you.
You invoke us: “AWAKE!
AWAKE! I COMMAND YOU!”

2 thoughts on “Sylph

  1. Superb! Not only do I enjoy reading your art because it touches me, but it is educational and expands my vocabulary. I never heard of a “threnody” until today. “Threnody” sounds so much better than “dirge.”

Leave a Reply

